Rules of Civility

I hate to admit this, but sometimes I buy a book based on its cover art alone. I know, I know, don’t judge a book… But, could you resist this cover either?

Rules of Civility

Rules of Civility

In the wake of the newest Gatsby movie and my continuing Gatsby love, I was intrigued by the 1930s aesthetic, the totally-in-control-while-lounging lady, and the faceless man at rapt attention. Plus, the color combination and gold font screams enjoyable read to me. I can’t explain why, it just does. Also, the cover was finished in this great way. It’s all at once glossy yet has a texture that feels warm. I’m sure there’s an incredibly technical term for this, but I certainly don’t know what that is.

I’m happy to report that my rash, totally cover-judgmental purchase turned out to be worthwhile. It got me through a cold, meaning that the book made my couch surfing even more enjoyable. (Side note: I think reading while I’m sick is my favorite kind of reading. It probably has a lot to do with the inability to take care of more pressing responsibilities, annihilating all guilt that tends to accompany my pleasure reading.)

Rules of Civility is set in 1938 and follows two boardinghouse roommates, Katey and Eve. On New Year’s Eve, the two end up at a dive, but before the clock strikes midnight, they meet Tinker Grey, an impossibly handsome banker who happens to be exceedingly charming. The three begin a friendship that has shocking consequences. (Seriously, shocking. It’s not what you think it’s going to be.)

Now, I can’t say much more about the plot because everything hinges on that shocking event. So instead, I’ll tell you about some of the things that came to my mind while reading this novel. There is little rhyme or reason to this list, but I’m hoping you’ll get a feel for the storyline without me having to actually give you the storyline: a young Katharine Hepburn, Cole Porter music, Ella Fitzgerald’s voice, Princeton crew, martinis, “a modern woman.” Take that as you will. Draw your own mental picture. (Another side note: wouldn’t that be a great, new book report format? Word association for the plot? Maybe I should start that.)

Leave a comment